Giving Thanks

As we celebrate Thanksgiving, I’d like to take a moment to give thanks for what I have.

First and foremost, I am thankful for my wife who has stuck with me for just over 16 years now (with more to come).  I am grateful for her willingness to take care of me and our family without much fanfare or recognition.  I would not be able to do what I do or accomplish what I have done if not for her steadfastness and ability to be a great stay-at-home mom.

I am thankful for my boys who, though at times push me to my limits, are still all around great kids who are very intelligent and full of the wonder a nine and six year-old can have.

I am thankful for my parents.  They have provided the foundation for the man, husband and father I have become. 

Along those lines, I am thankful for my grandparents.   Even though they have all passed away, they provided for my parents for many years and provided me with such wisdom and knowledge.

I am thankful for my health and job and the prosperity that has come from both.

I am thankful for Scouting and all that it has done for me and what it is doing for my oldest and what it will do for my youngest.

Finally, I am thankful to be able to live in a country where I have the freedom to be able to give thanks for what I have.

About jthoppe

Eagle Scout, Cub Dad (Former Pack Committee Chair, soon to be Tiger Den Leader, District Committee; enjoys TKD, softball and generally being outside.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Giving Thanks

  1. Arlen Ward says:

    I am thankful I survived Thanksgiving and all the driving associated with it.

    I am VERY thankful that there are Scouters out there willing to take the time to put their experience and knowlege on the internet so we can all learn something new.

    Thanks for helping us all out!
    Arlen

Leave a Reply

